mr-knowitall's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not So Urgent Care

Yesterday at about 1:30 in the afternoon I got a phone call from David�s school saying that he had been playing basketball in the gym after lunch, and some how smashed his hand into the fire alarm. At that point I had visions of fire trucks pulling into the school with all these kids standing out in the cold, and all because of my son.

The lady on the phone then said, but don�t worry, he didn�t set it off, (sigh of relief) but he did get a nasty cut on his right middle knuckle, and he might need stitches.

So, I had really only two options: Urgent Care, or Emergency room. Let me put it another way� $35, or $75.

I went the $35 route. I picked him up, and took him to the Beavercreek Urgent Care. We got there at about 2:00, and waited. Cheryl eventually came and relieved me, and I went back to work.

At about 4:00, Cheryl calls me and says that they haven�t been seen yet, and she had to go to work. I couldn�t leave work at the time, so she took David home.

So I had to go back up there at 5:00, and we started all over again. Finally, at 7:30, they called us back into another room� and there we sat again� for about another 45 minutes.

Eventually the doctor came in and glued him. The nurse had to splint the finger where the cut was to ensure the glue didn�t break open. Remember how I said it was the �middle knuckle�?

My son is a walking obscenity now.

While we were sitting there; there was another guy who was the one ahead of us. He was quite sick. He could barely talk. He had been there for about 4 hours, and while we were talking he says, �I can�t think of a better reason for socialized medicine.� Then of course he tells me about how wonderful the Canadian system is.

Fundamentally, I think there has to be a better way without allowing the government to take over 1/7th of the US economy.

The reason why it�s so slow now is because it is over laden with bureaucracy, and the means of preventing law suits. Not to mentions the serious shortage of Doctors available for that kind of care.

Truthfully, it would be a hard sell to me for socialized medicine. Honestly, I am not the most informed person about this issue, but at my core beliefs I feel that giving the Government financial control of anything means less freedom for the rest of us. They have too much control as it is. Look at Social Security. What perfect model of Government control.

There has to be a better way using the free market to create more competition, which would drive costs down, and create better service.

~Rick

9:06 a.m. - 2003-12-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: