mr-knowitall's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bambi vs. Rick

I love my exercise regiment

I love my exercise regiment.

Typically I work out 5 days a week. I run 1-2 days and bike about 3-4 days. Eventually I plan to get back into some weightlifting, but I have to go easy because I have a small tear in my rotator-cuff.

When I bike, it's typically 20 miles a day, and on the weekends I like to get a bigger ride in; 30-50 miles. That will be changing as the fall sets in, and as the weather gets colder I will be running more, and biking less. If I had a mountain bike I could ride year round. They are rather pricy (the kind I'd like) so I'll have to hold off until later. But you my faithful readers can make a donation, if you'd like.

There is a park I like to run in that's close to my home that's called The Narrows Reserve. It has a dirt path that runs along the Little Miami River and has about 5 miles worth of trials in the woods, up and down hills and dales, and all the wildlife you'd ever want to see. The other day I was on the final leg (no pun) of my run, and suddenly a 6 point buck dashed across the trial right in front of me. I stopped to get a better look at him, and he stopped to get a better look at me.

There he stood no more than 20 ft away from me; staring, wondering what I was doing there. It was amazing. In all my life, all wild deer ever did at the sight of people was bolt. This one decided to check me out. I smiled and said, "Hey there buddy!" To which he responded by snorting, wagging his head up and down, and scraped his hooves on the ground.

Suddenly in my head I heard a flamenco guitar begin to strum. Spanish horns began to sound, and I started to feel like a matador. I was starting to feel like I was on an episode of "When Animals Attack". I started having visions of Bambi fighting the for the love of Faline.

I ran.

 

11:18 a.m. - 2004-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: