mr-knowitall's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Political Update

Wow

Wow.

   A lot has happened. I actually have personal and political entries to make, and I think I'm going to do them separately.

Political: My post convention[s] coverage.

   I have to be perfectly honest and say that I didn't watch much of the Democrat convention. I tried to, but I really found it all predictable and boring. Also, I have been watching the Dems' very closely for several years, and I don't need to watch their convention to find out what they're all about. The same could be said of the Republican Convention, but for one thing; President Bush has been getting unceasingly hammered  for the last year, and I had to see how my parties leadership was going to respond.

   Many pundits did say that Kerry made a good speech, and I have to think that anyone in that situation would. But one thing really stands out to me, and I didn't even see it; "I'm John Kerry, and I'm reporting for duty." This was a huge mistake on his part because he's opening himself up to serious scrutiny, and he's not been handling it well.

   Overall based on the response to the Democrat Convention I have to say it didn't do much for the Democrats, especially since Kerry got little or no bounce from it. The Gallup poll even had Bush ahead after it was over.

   But contrasting the national response to the Republican Convention is like the difference between night and day. Some polls are showing Bush with a double digit lead.

  My analysis has lead me to believe that I am still right. A little while back I predicted a Bush04 victory, and I stand by it still.

The Speakers:

  • John McCain
    • It was good to see him up there supporting the President, even though I have some issues on his stances... McCain-Feingold being one of them.
  • Rudy
    •  The two Americas for Kerry to vote two ways comment was great.
  • Ah-nold
    • I love that man. Who better to stand up there as a Republican than an immigrant who arrived here with nothing and not speaking a word of English. He subsequently becomes Mr. Universe, a movie star, owner of a very successful construction company, and then governor of the most populous state in the country and speaks at the convention. What a story, and what a great man.
  • Dick Cheney
    • ZZZ-ZZZ-ZZZ... huh, oh! Umm yeah, it was a good speech, but he's not the most effective speaker I've ever heard. I did enjoy it though.
  • George W. Bush
    • If Kerry hit a single with his speech, then President Bush hit a home run. He hit all points that needed to be hit, although I wished he'd spent a little more time talking about the state of the economy; which is arguably good.
    • I was touched by his recounting of some of the decisions that lead up to the war, and also when he met the families of those who lost loved ones there. For a minute I didn't think he'd make it through, and it looked like he was about to cry.
    • I thought it was the most convincing speech I've ever seen him deliver. Well Done Mr. President.

The Aftermath:

When John Kerry holds a Midnight rally after the President's speech, starts ripping his and Cheney's war records, when neither of them have ever said anything bad about his, says that "RNC means Really Not Compassionate; you really have to believe they are getting desperate. Especially since he's diving in the polls.

4 more years folks.

Do you think I should play Broadway Joe? Make a guarantee?

Rick

4:10 p.m. - 2004-09-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: