mr-knowitall's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Classical Guitarist

Holy SHMOKES

Holy SHMOKES!!! I actually caught a break in the action, and I'm going to update!

Personally

There has not been a lot happening in my life that is of any significance. I have been losing weight (about 10 pounds - YAY). I've been biking and running a lot lately. It also helps when you cut the sugar and the French fries out too. Not that I was obese or anything, but I was very uncomfortable with myself. I've been running 2-3 days a week, and biking 2-3 days a week. Typically when I run its 3-4 miles, and when I bike it's 20-30 miles, and on Saturdays I like to get a big ride in 40-50 miles on the weekends.

Other than that, I 've been pursuing my Classical Guitar Hobby. It's something I truly enjoy, and I'm glad to be back in the saddle. My repertoire is now as follows:

  1. Sor � Estudio 1 of the Segovia 20
  2. Sor � Estudio 2 of the Segovia 20
  3. Bach � Bouree from the lute suite in E min
  4. Traditional � Romance
  5. Ponce/Segovia � Prelude 1
  6. Ponce/Segovia � Prelude 2
  7. Ponce/Segovia � Prelude 4
  8. Ponce/Segovia � Prelude 6
  9. Villa-Lobos � Valsa
  10. Villa-Lobos � Gavota
  11. Villa-Lobos � Prelude 1
  12. Villa-Lobos � Prelude 4
  13. Villa-Lobos � Etude 1

The ones in italics are  my less than polished pieces, and are at least committed to memory. I'm really liking the Villa-Lobos guitar pieces.

Someday I hope to record, and post these as MP3's for your listening enjoyment. I used to play a lot of other material, much harder stuff really, but I was making a mistake. I would listen to some really advanced guitarists like Norbert Kraft, John Williams, or even Andre Segovia, and I would approach it with the 'rock guitar' attitude.

You see, when I was a teenager, I would listen to songs I liked, and I would try to figure them out. And when it came down to most 3 chord ballads, I was the king. So when I was in the Navy, I took the opportunity to learn how to read music.  I used a classical guitar book, and I got hooked. So once I learned how to read, I would listen to something like 'Albeniz's Asturias' or 'El Colibri, and I thought it was just a matter of getting the music, and figuring the rest out.

I couldn't have been more wrong.

I played the pieces to a decent level, but I could never get the speed I needed to make it sound like I wanted it to. I was trying to achieve an opus of ability without either the experience or the mentoring many of the guitarists I admire had. I guess I was looking for a drive through window for ability. So I've been taking the long road, and I am reaping the benefits. I also am not shooting for the stars. There are a lot of simpler works that are great.

Family

Cheryl has yet to see a doctor. She has indicated to me that she's afraid of losing me. I'm glad to hear that I matter, because I was starting think I didn't.

David and Tom are getting ready for Cross Country. Katie is enjoying the rest of her summer. They all start school on the 24th. I start school on the 25th.

 

~Rick

4:24 p.m. - 2004-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: