mr-knowitall's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shakespeare was right...

The Browns lost, I was depressed, and I got over it.

My brother is one of the smartest people I know. He is also the most ethical person I know. To top off all of that, he is a lawyer.

Not a good mix. He is leery of his career choice these days. He has been practicing for over 20 years, and is no longer accepting new clients and is moving into the business sector to try to make money. You see, most Lawyers make their money by going to court. My brother makes money by keeping people out of court.

I�d been thinking that instead of getting an MBA, I�d go after a Jurist Doctor, and that would better equip me in my career pursuit. He vehemently opposed me. I was quite surprised, but he continued on with his perception of the modern day legal community.

He talked about how the bench is filled with political elites who care more about the advancements of their careers than they do the law. In court, your case may be decided, or helped by your history of greasing the palm of the judge you are facing. If the opposing counsel has greased the judge�s palm more than you have, you will come up short.

He also told me that there is not any money to make as an honest lawyer today anyway. The last 10 years has produced an over-abundance of attorneys, and there is little good work for them to do. So they have to create work for themselves, and they do so by deconstructing the law. Hence the onslaught of liability suits.

His solution? Kill them all, and start fresh.

My son Tom was also thinking of pursing a career in Law. He and I both have since changed our minds. It looks like I will pursue an MBA, specializing in project management.

Meet my cat.

It's not actually him, but this is the closest picture I've ever found of him.

Rick

2:14 p.m. - 2003-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: